Jekyll Island Club
A luxe historic atmosphere in what was once a private club for some of America's wealthiest nineteenth-century citizens.
Straight out of "Lifestyles of the Nineteenth-Century’s Rich and Famous," the Jekyll Island Club began life as the seasonal playground of the Vanderbilts, Pulitzers, Goodyears and Morgans. America’s millionaires arriving in their splendid yachts made this barrier island, today owned by the state of Georgia, their own private hideaway. Some built “cottages” to house their families during the season, while others lodged in the hotel or in the Sans Souci apartments, one of the nation‘s first condominiums. Today the clubhouse and two of the surviving “cottages” offer 157 rooms, including nineteen suites. Other cottages are restored and open for visitation, and the ruins or foundation footprints of yet others are still visible. Clad in traditional white attire, devotees of croquet play on the front lawn. While golf and tennis are among the available pursuits, walking, birding, bicycle riding, horseback riding and children's programs also appeal. Opening in January 1888, the main hotel features Victorian Queen Anne style, and its turreted profile remains a symbol of the wealth of the era. Rooms are spacious and grand in atmosphere, and many have waterfront views that capture breathtaking sunsets. Verandahs with rocking chairs invite leisure and relaxation. The entire complex occupies about twenty landscaped acres that are easily explored on foot.