Since 1969, restaurant, hotel, travel & other witty reviews by a handpicked, worldwide team of discerning professionals—and your views, too.

Reviews: Car of the Month 2016

The Rides that Made our Month

A Month-by-Month Look at our Favorite Cars

At GAYOT, we are constantly testing out the best new automobiles; however, it takes a truly special vehicle to be chosen as our Car of the Month. Our picks aren't limited to luxury models and flashy sports cars, but instead represent the best of their class, whether it be budget coupe or full-size SUV, and exemplify the growing trends of the auto world. Take a look below for a collection of all of our choices for the current year.


OCTOBER 2016

A three-quarter front view of the 2016 Volvo XC90 T6 AWD R-Design, GAYOT's Car of the Month for October 2016

2016 Volvo XC90 T6 AWD R-Design
Volvo's stately full-size SUV gets the brand's sporty R-Design treatment, adding sportier bodywork and unique wheels, along with a smooth sport suspension tune — making it an obvious choice for GAYOT's favorite ride this month.

Read more


SEPTEMBER 2016

A three-quarter rear view of the 2016 Volkswagen Beetle Dune Convertible, GAYOT's Car of the Month for September 2016

2016 Volkswagen Beetle Dune Convertible
The Dune Buggies are back! We drove around in the convertible model of Volkswagen's 2016 Beetle Dune and found it was love at first drive. Find out why!

Read more


AUGUST 2016

A three-quarter front view of the 2017 Cadillac XT5, GAYOT's Car of the Month for August 2016

2017 Cadillac XT5
Cadillac has entered the luxury crossover market with its all-new 2017 XT5. Built on a lightweight chassis and filled with new technology, this versatile vehicle is our favorite for the month of August.

Read more


JULY 2016

A three-quarter front view of the 2016 BMW xDrive 40e SUV, GAYOT's Car of the Month for July 2016

2016 BMW X5 xDrive40e
The midsize Bavarian SUV gets an eco-friendly boost for 2016 in the form of the new plug-in hybrid BMW X5 xDrive40e. The name may be a mouthful, but the fuel savings from this hybrid behemoth should more than make up for any awkward syntax.

Read more


JUNE 2016

A three-quarter front view of the 2016 Buick Cascada, GAYOT's Car of the Month for June 2016

2016 Buick Cascada
As summer begins, so does perfect cruising weather. That's why we have chosen the all-new 2016 Buick Cascada convertible for our Car of the Month in June. Featuring a sleek, never-before-seen design and quality handling, the Cascada is our favorite drop-top summer crush.

Read more


MAY 2016

A three-quarter front view of a 2016 Audi A3 e-tron electric plug-in hatchback

2016 Audi A3 e-tron
This vehicle is perfect for mom, or anyone else who would like a high-value, electric plug-in hatchback to get around town. The upscale interior and fuel-efficient technology are just two reasons why the 2016 Audi A3 e-tron is GAYOT's Car of the Month for the month of May.

Read more


APRIL 2016

A three-quarter rear view of a 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid sedan, GAYOT's Car of the Month for April 2016

2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited
It's everything you love about a spacious, comfortable and safe family sedan but with the added benefits of fuel-efficiency. The 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is as versatile as it is stylish, making it GAYOT's Car of the Month for April 2016.

Read more


MARCH 2016

A three-quarter front view of a 2016 Mercedes-Benz GLE 400 4MATIC

2016 Mercedes-Benz GLE 400 4MATIC
The 2016 GLE 400 4MATIC is a high-tech replacement for Mercedes-Benz's long-running ML-class SUV. This luxurious and upmarket ute adds significant sportiness over its predecessor.

Read more


FEBRUARY 2016

A three-quarter rear view of the 2016 Ford Mustang GT, GAYOT's Car of the Month for February 2016

2016 Ford Mustang GT - California Special
With its bold racer red hue and sexy, chiseled frame, the 2016 Ford Mustang GT is GAYOT's favorite for the romantic month of February. Especially in this souped-up California Special trim, with refined spoiler detail and tire package.

Read more


JANUARY 2016

A three-quarter front view of the 2016 Tesla Model S P90D, GAYOT's Car of the Month for January 2016

2016 Tesla Model S P90D - Ludicrous
The all-electric, eco-friendly Tesla Model S P90D is revamped for 2016 with groundbreaking features like autonomous driving and a Ludicrous mode that sends the Tesla's light chassis flying from 0 to 60 in just 2.8 seconds.

Read more


MORE CAR OF THE MONTH REVIEWS

A three-quarter front view of the 2016 Bentley Mulsanne, GAYOT's Car of the Month for December 2015

Previous Car of the Month Reviews
There were many highlights for new production cars in the past year, but only 12 vehicles could be chosen as outstanding rides. Find out which models made the cut for GAYOT's previous Car of the Month Awards.

Read more




UAA10116

The kinds of movies made for foodies, including classics such as Like Water for Chocolate and newer releases like Chef and Ratatouille.

Summer is here! Protect your skin from harmful UV rays all year round with GAYOT's Top 10 Sunscreens.