Since 1969, restaurant, hotel, travel & other witty reviews by a handpicked, worldwide team of discerning professionals—and your views, too.

2011 Wine of the Week Reviews

Each Monday we post a new review of a typically low production wine in our Wine of the Week section and feature everything from prestigious Champagnes to value Cabernet Sauvignons. Our special selections, which are often chosen from boutique wineries, are picked to match the season. This archive page lists, by the month, all of our featured weekly wine reviews for 2011.

December 26, 2011

Wine label of Champagne Salon 1997 Blanc de Blancs Le Mesnil, our wine of the week
Champagne Salon 1997 Blanc de Blancs Le Mesnil
Created in 1911 by Jean-Aimé Salon, Champagne Salon is the sister house of Delamotte. Their 1997 Blanc de Blancs is the sort of wine voluptuous enough to pair with nearly any food.

December 19, 2011

Wine label of Champagne Collet Brut Millesime 2002, our wine of the week
Champagne Collet Brut Millésimé 2002
Founded in 1921, Champagne Collet emerged out of the "Champagne Wars" and the movement to protect regional integrity. Their 2002 vintage offers aromas of dried apple, yeast and spice.

December 12, 2011

Wine label of Schramsberg 2008 Brut Rose, our wine of the week
Schramsberg 2008 Brut Rosé
Schramsberg, whose history dates back to the 1870s, is today recognized as one of the most exciting sparkling wine producers in the world. Their 2008 Brut Rosé offers ripe red currant, strawberry and cranberry flavors.

December 05, 2011

Trevisiol NV Prosecco Extra Dry

November 28, 2011

Rizzi 2005 Boito Barbaresco DOCG

November 21, 2011

Weinstock 2010 Alicante Bouschet

November 14, 2011

Ceja Vineyards 2008 Pinot Noir

November 7, 2011
Clos LaChance Winery 2008 Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay

October 31, 2011
Louis M. Martini 2008 Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon

October 24, 2011

Vampire Vineyards 2007 Trueblood Pinot Noir

October 17, 2011

Wyland 2008 Napa Chardonnay

October 10, 2011

Trattore 2009 Estate Zinfandel

October 3, 2011
Spring Valley Vineyard 2008 Uriah

September 26, 2011

Yorba Wines 2007 Tempranillo

September 19, 2011

Townley Wines 2009 Alder Springs Vineyard Chardonnay

September 12, 2011

LaZarre Wines 2009 Pinot Noir

September 5, 2011

La Rochelle 2010 Rosé of Pinot Noir

August 29, 2011
Le Grande Courtage Grand Cuvee Blanc de Blancs Brut

August 22, 2011
Vegan Vine 2010 Sauvignon Blanc

August 15, 2011
Waterstone 2007 Study in Blue

August 8, 2011
Solis Winery 2009 Vino Roseo di Sangiovese

August 1, 2011
J. Lohr Vineyards 2009 Fog's Reach Pinot Noir

July 25, 2011

Foppiano Vineyards 2010 Estate Bottled Sauvignon Blanc

July 18, 2011
Eristavi Family Winery 2009 Syrah

July 11, 2011

Joseph Drouhin 2009 Rully

July 4, 2011
Chappellet 2008 Pritchard Hill Cabernet Sauvignon

June 27, 2011
Domäne Wachau 2010 Terrassen Federspiel Grüner Veltliner

June 20, 2011
Pfendler Vineyards 2009 Chardonnay

June 13, 2011

Deep Sea 2008 Pinot Noir

June 6, 2011
Radog 2007 Dry Gewürztraminer

May 27, 2011
Shaw Vineyard 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon

May 23, 2011

Northstar Winery 2007 Columbia Valley Merlot

May 16, 2011
La Maison de Vertuze NV Rosé

May 9, 2011

J Vineyards & Winery 2010 Hoot Owl Vineyard Viognier

May 2, 2011
Frank Family Vineyards 2009 Napa Valley Chardonnay

April 25, 2011
Bouchaine Vineyards 2007 Estate Pinot Noir

April 18, 2011
Rosenblum Cellars 2008 Maggie's Reserve Zinfandel

April 11, 2011
Korbin Kameron 2006 Cuvée Kristin

April 4, 2011
Talbott 2008 Sleepy Hollow Vineyard Chardonnay

March 28, 2011

Aveleda 2006 Follies Touriga Nacional

March 21, 2011
Beckmen Vineyards 2008 Le Bec Blanc

March 14, 2011

Austin Hope Winery 2009 Syrah

March 7, 2011
Gloria Ferrer 2006 Rust Rock Terrace Pinot Noir

February 28, 2011

Dashe Cellars 2008 Todd Brothers Ranch Petite Sirah

February 21, 2011
Pali Wine Co. 2009 Charm Acres Chardonnay

February 14, 2011
Dutton-Goldfield 2008 Cherry Ridge Vineyard Syrah

February 7, 2011
Goldeneye 2007 Gowan Creek Vineyard Pinot Noir

January 31, 2011
Quivira 2008 Elusive

January 24, 2011
Niner Wine Estates 2005 Fog Catcher

January 17, 2011
Zaca Mesa 2007 Mesa Reserve Syrah

January 10, 2011
Kristian Story 2006 Soiree

January 3, 2011

Gramercy Cellars 2008 Inigo Montoya Tempranillo


See the current Wine of the Week

OTHER WINE OF THE WEEK REVIEWS

Read about the wine world's most influential critic: Robert Parker, Jr.



PJC122710
(Updated: 01/03/12 BH)

Craft breweries are a trend on the rise, with thousands opening worldwide. To help, we've compiled a list of our ten favorite brews you need to try.

Whether straight up or mixed into an Admiral Schley Punch, share a cheers to the American spirit by trying one of our top ten bourbons.